Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Elects President

By: E&P Staff

David Boardman has been elected president of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications. Boardman’s term will begin in September 2014. He currently serves as editor of The Seattle Times.

Peter Bhatia, editor and vice president of The Oregonian and current council president, will continue in his position.

The council also elected two new members to three-year terms on its accrediting committee and one new member to a one-year unexpired term.  The council also re-elected two members to three-year terms.

The new members are Africa Price, executive editor of The Shreveport (La.) Times and Andy Alexander, former Washington Post ombudsman and longtime Cox Newspapers executive.  Kathryn Christensen, professor of practice at the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Nebraska, was elected to fill the one-year unexpired term of Phil Dixon, who resigned. Trevor Brown, dean and professor emeritus at the School of Journalism, Indiana University, and John Paluszek, senior counsel at Ketchum in New York City, were re-elected to the committee.

Like & Share E&P:
Follow by Email


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *