Newspaper Association of America Elects New Chairman


Robert M. Nutting, president and CEO of Wheeling, W.Va.-based Ogden Newspapers Inc., has been elected as the Newspaper Association of America’s next chairman. The gavel was passed to Nutting by last year’s chairman, James M. Moroney III, during NAA mediaXchange 2013 in Orlando April 14-17. Moroney, publisher and CEO of The Dallas Morning News, will continue to serve on the NAA Board of Directors as immediate past chairman.

Bob Nutting is only the fourth person to lead Ogden Newspapers – a family-owned diversified media company – in its 122-year history. In addition, he serves as chairman of the Pittsburgh Pirates. He is a past president of the West Virginia Press Association. He is passionate about environmental conservation, supports various environmental programs, and serves as vice chairman of The Nature Conservancy’s West Virginia chapter.

Other NAA officers elected were: Robert Dickey, president of Gannett Co. Inc. U.S. Community Publishing, vice chairman; Donna Barrett, president and CEO, Community Newspaper Holdings Inc., secretary; and Stephen Hills, president and general manager of The Washington Post, treasurer.

The following were elected to additional two-year terms on the NAA Board of Directors: Michael G. Abernathy, Landmark Community Newspapers; Rosanne Cheeseman, Times Publishing Co.; Maria Eugenia Ferré Rangel, GFR Media and El Nuevo Dia; Michael Fiorile, The Dispatch Printing Co.; Clark Gilbert, Deseret News; Michael Golden, The New York Times Co.; Mark H. Jackson, Dow Jones & Co. Inc.; Michael J. Klingensmith, Star Tribune; and Douglas K. Ray, Daily Herald.

Mark W. Newhouse of Advance Publications Inc. was elected to an additional one-year term on the NAA Board of Directors. He also is chairman of the American Press Institute Board of Directors.

Elected to initial two-year terms on the NAA Board of Directors were: Jeffrey Bairstow, Digital First Media Inc.; Kirk Davis, GateHouse Media Inc.; Michael J. Joseph, Cox Media Group Inc.; Terry Kroeger, BH Media; and Kevin Mowbray, St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

Bairstow is president of Digital First Media Inc., which operates Journal Register Co., MediaNews Group Inc. and Digital First Ventures. He joined Journal Register in 2010. Prior to that, he was CFO at CCBR-Synarc Inc., where he also was president of the global imaging division. Bairstow previously served as executive vice president and CFO at Dendrite International Inc.

Davis became president and COO of GateHouse in 2009. He was named CEO of GateHouse Media New England in 2006 upon the company’s purchases of Enterprise NewsMedia and Community Newspaper Co. Davis previously served as CEO of Enterprise NewsMedia and president of Community Newspaper Co.

Joseph, executive vice president of Cox Media Group Inc., joined the company in 1995. He served as publisher of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution before moving to Cox’s headquarters. Prior to that, he was president and CEO of Cox Ohio Publishing as well as publisher of the Dayton Daily News.

Kroeger is CEO of BH Media Group and publisher of the Omaha World-Herald. He joined the Omaha World-Herald Co. in 1985 and was named CEO in 2008.

Mowbray is publisher of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and an operating vice president for Lee Enterprises Inc. He oversees all St. Louis operations, including, STL Distribution Services LLC and the Suburban Journals of Greater St. Louis, and has direct oversight of Lee newspapers in several other cities. He joined the company in 1986.

Like & Share E&P:
Follow by Email


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *