2006 Winners of National Awards for Education Reporting Announced

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The Education Writers Association has announced the winners of their annual awards for the best education reporting from around the country. The awards will be presented on May 5 at a dinner in Los Angeles, where the best of the winners will be awarded The Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting.

Below is a full list of the winners in the newspapers category.


I. Newspapers under 100,000 Circulation

A. Breaking or Hard News
— First prize: Ben Finley, Harry Yanoshak and Jo Ciavaglia, Bucks County Courier Times, “Tyrone Lewis Graduation”

B. Feature, News Feature or Issue Package
— First Prize: Todd Spivack, Houston Press, “Cut Short”
— Second Prize: Catherine Ann Velasco, Herald News, “Cyberbullied”
— Special Citation: Beth Slovic, Willamette Week, “Illegal Scholar”
— Special Citation: Margaret Downing, Houston Press, “Opt In, Opt Out”
— Special Citation: Kelly Cramer, New Times Broward/Palm Beach, “FCAT Scratch Fever”

C. Series or Group of Articles?
— First Prize: Stu Whitney, Argus Leader, “Sports Transfers Shift Balance in S.D.”
— Second Prize: Julie Mack, Kalamazoo Gazette, “The Promise”
— Special Citation: Jennifer Torres, The Record, “A Future in the Fields?”

D. Investigative Reporting
— First Prize: Kristen Hinman, Riverfront Times, “Vashon High School Series”
— Second Prize: Ryan Gabrielson, East Valley Tribune, “District Let Years of Misconduct Slide”
— Special Citation: Chad Livengood, Jackson Citizen Patriot, “Felon Kept Job After Principal Got Notice”

E. Opinion
— Special Citation: Jane Nicholes, Press-Register, “Struggling School Board”

II. Newspapers over 100,000 Circulation

A. Breaking or Hard News
— First Prize: Susan Snyder, Martha Woodall, Kellie Patrick, Kristen Graham, Keith Herbert, Jennifer Moroz, Nancy Phillips, Terry Bitman, Melanie Burney, Thomas Ginsberg, Dan Hardy, Todd Mason, Alletta Emeno, Dylan Purcell, Philadelphia Inquirer, “Amish Schoolhouse Murders”
— Second Prize: Daniel Golden, Zachary Seward and Steve Stecklow, The Wall Street Journal, “The Fall of Larry Summers”

B. Feature, News Feature or Issue Package
— First Prize: Stephanie Banchero, Chicago Tribune, “The Education of John Cobbins”
— Second Prize: Mark Waller, The Times-Picayune, “The Graduate”
— Special Citation: Ron Matus, St. Petersburg Times, “Ninth or Never”
— Special Citation: Emily Richmond, Las Vegas Sun, “The Recruiter”

C. Series or Group of Articles
— Special Citation: Phil Trexler and Carol Biliczky, Akron Beacon Journal, “Felons in Dorms”
— Special Citation: Justin Pope, Associated Press, “The Admissions Game”

D. Investigative Reporting
— First Prize: Jean Rimbach and Kathleen Carroll, The Record, “Lessons in Waste”
— Second Prize (tie): Christine Willmsen and Michael Ko, Seattle Times, “High School Recruiting Scandal”
— Second Prize (tie): Brett Blackledge, The Birmingham News, “Corruption in Community College System”
— Special Citation: Frank Bass, Ben Feller and Nicole Ziegler Dizon, Associated Press, “No Child Loophole”
— Special Citation: Kent Fischer, Molly Motley Blythe, Tawnell Hobbs and Pete Slover, Dallas Morning News, “Dallas School Spending”
— Special Citation: Scott Stephens, Bob Paynter and Sandra Livingston, The Plain Dealer, “Who’s Profiting from Ohio?s Charter Schools?”

E. Opinion
— First Prize: Joshua Benton, The Dallas Morning News, “Columns”
— Second Prize: Carolyn Davis and Chris Satullo, The Philadelphia Inquirer, “Upward Bound: the Success of Philadelphia School Reform”
— Special Citation: Paul Greenberg, David Barham and Kane Webb, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, “Arkansas Education”
— Special Citation: Rodger Jones, Jim Mitchell and Mike Hashimoto, Dallas Morning News, “High-Stakes Cheating”
— Special Citation: Gregory Stanford, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, “Diversity”?

III. Beat Reporting

A. Small Media or Market
— First Prize: Scott Carlson, Chronicle of Higher Education, “Libraries and Archives”
— Second Prize: Diette Courrege, Post and Courier, “Beat Reporting”
— Special Citation: Peter Schmidt, Chronicle of Higher Education, “Affirmative Action”?

B. Large Media or Market
— First Prize: Daniel Golden, Wall Street Journal, “God and Harvard”
— Second Prize: Rosalind Rossi, Chicago Sun-Times, “Beat Reporting”
— Special Citation: Joshua Benton, Dallas Morning News, “The Education Beat”
— Special Citation: Kimberly Miller, Palm Beach Post, “A Collection”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *