2007 ASNE Awards Announced for Writers, Photographers

By: E&P Staff

The 2007 winners for The American Society of Newspaper Editors’ awards for distinguished writing and photography have been announced, honoring the very best newspaper journalism of the past year.

The winning entries were selected from nearly 600 submissions from news organizations throughout the U.S. and Canada. The awards are given for work that appeared in English-language newspapers in 2006.

The Jesse Laventhol Prizes — which are endowed by the son of the longtime Philadelphia newspaperman — “recognize the best deadline work and to encourage more of it,” according to Laventhol’s son.

The Batten Medal is given in memory of deceased newspaperman James Batten, and honors journalists whose work exhibits “compassion, courage, humanity and a deep concern for the underdog.”

The Laventhol prizes carry a $10,000 cash award. All of the other award winners receive $2,500.

The prizes willl be given at a ceremony during ASNE’s convention in Washington D.C., on Thursday, March 29.

A full list of the winner follows below.


Winners of the 2007 ASNE Awards are:

Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by an Individual
— C.J. Chivers, The New York Times. For his detailed accounts of an American medic’s treatment of a member of his platoon in Iraq who was critically wounded by a sniper.

Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by a Team
— Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Staff. For coverage of a factory explosion at a complex in Milwaukee’s industrial valley that killed three workers and injured 46.

Batten Medal
— Anne Hull, The Washington Post. Her five stories eloquently explored the subtle effects of the Iraq War on a range of Americans.

Commentary/Column Writing
— Ana Menendez, The Miami Herald. For columns about the Miami community, including how a local festival to celebrate Cuban history had grown into a marketing ploy.

Community Service Photojournalism Award
— Suzanne Kreiter, The Boston Globe. For a collection of photos capturing the colorful fabric of the Boston community.

Freedom Forum/ASNE Award for Distinguished Writing on Diversity
— Andrea Elliott, The New York Times. For a three-part series, “An Imam in America,” penetrating the inner life of a mosque in Brooklyn and its dynamic imam.

Distinguished Writing Award for Editorial Writing
— Jane Healy, Orlando (Fla.) Sentinel. For a five-part series of editorials called, “Florida’s Shame,” on how the laws and policies in Florida for managing growth were a sham.

Distinguished Writing Award for Local Accountability Reporting
— The Seattle Times (Ken Armstrong, Justin Mayo, and Steve Miletich). For a series of stories, “Your Courts, Their Secrets,” that revealed how judges in the state’s largest county had illegally sealed hundreds of civil cases, depriving the public of vital information about public safety, health care, courts and schools.

Distinguished Writing Award for Nondeadline Writing
— Barbara Brotman, Chicago Tribune. For a series of stories chronicling the final five months of hospice care of a retired insurance executive at a nursing home on Chicago’s North Shore.


The ASNE judges also recognized the work of other newspaper journalists as finalists:

Batten Medal
Steve Lopez, Los Angeles Times
Chris Rose, The Times-Picayune, New Orleans

Distinguished Writing Award for Commentary/Column Writing
Edward Achorn, The Providence (R.I.) Journal
Mary Sanchez, The Kansas City (Mo.) Star

Community Service Journalism
Renee C. Byer, The Sacramento (Calif.) Bee
April Saul, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by an Individual
John E. Mulligan, The Providence (R.I.) Journal
Anthony Shadid, The Washington Post

Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by a Team
Ken Murray, Doug Donovan, Bradley Olson and Rick Maese, The Sun,
Staff, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Freedom Forum/ASNE Award for Outstanding Writing on Diversity
Lisa Kennedy, The Denver Post
Beth Macy, The Roanoke (Va.) Times

Distinguished Writing Award for Editorial Writing
David Barham, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock
Larry Harmon, The Boston Globe

Local Accountability Reporting
June Arney, Fred Schulte, The Sun, Baltimore
William Glaberson, The New York Times
George Pawlaczyk, Beth Hundsdorfer, Belleville (Ill.) News-Democrat

Non-Deadline Writing
Kevin Cullen, The Boston Globe
Mark Emmons, San Jose (Calif.) Mercury News

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *