24 ‘Star Tribune’ Staffers Take Buyouts

By: E&P Staff

Twenty-four newsroom employees at the Star Tribune of Minneapolis, Minn., are taking buyouts, according to an emailed memo to staff first published on the Web site of the Minnesota Monitor.

The memo said that while some of those voluntarily resigning had already intended to retire in 2008, others were taking the opportunity to take a break from journalism or look at other career options.

“Several of those who are leaving have been high-profile writers who are well known to our readers,” said the memo. “Others have made their contributions as copy editors, designers, support staff employees and news assistants.”

AP reports: “The departures amount to about 7 percent of the newsroom’s 360 workers. Among those taking the buyouts were political reporter Dane Smith, longtime reporter and former state editor Robert Franklin, sports writer Steve Aschburner, food columnist Al Sicherman, restaurant writer Jeremy Iggers, and editorial writer Ron Meador, the newspaper said in a note to staff Tuesday.”

The paper will honor those leaving at a ceremony Friday. Below is a list of the staffers leaving.


Judy Arginteanu
Bill Arthur
Steve Aschburner
Mike Carroll
Bob Franklin
Gretchen Gramenz
Doug Halliday
Jeremy Iggers
Jocelina Joiner
Tom Jones
Jim Landberg
Bob Lutsey
Ron Meador
Richard Parker
Darlene Prois
John Reinan
Pam Schmid
Al Sicherman
David Silk
Derek Simmons
Tom Simon
Dane Smith
Brad Stokman
Margaret Zack

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *