Anderson Elected SNPA President, Paxton to Be President-Elect

Follow by Email
Visit Us


Ivan V. Anderson Jr., president and CEO of Evening Post Publishing Co. in Charleston, S.C., was elected Monday as president of the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association.

Anderson succeeds Victor H. Hanson III, president and publisher of the Birmingham (Ala.) News, who was elected chairman of the SNPA Board of Directors.

David M. Paxton, president and CEO of Paxton Media Group of Paducah, Ky., was elected president-elect. Donna Barrett, president and CEO of Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc., of Birmingham, Ala., was elected treasurer.

The elections occurred during the Atlanta-based group’s annual convention in Naples, Fla.

The SNPA Board of Directors consists of one director from each of the 14 SNPA states and four at-large directors. Directors serve three-year terms, and staggered so that six new directors are elected each year.
The following directors were elected Monday to three-year terms:

— At-Large: Lester T. Simpson, publisher of the Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News.

— Louisiana: Douglas L. Manship Jr., publisher of The Advocate, Baton Rouge. Manship was appointed to the board last year to fill the unexpired term of David Paxton, who was elected treasurer. This year, he was elected to a full three-year term.

— Mississippi: Todd H. Carpenter, president and chief operating officer of Boone Newspapers.

— North Carolina: J. Stephen Buckley, publisher of the Burlington Times-News and regional vice president of Freedom Communications. Buckley joined the board a year ago to complete the term of former North Carolina director Peter Ridder, who retired. He now will serve a full three-year term.

— Tennessee: Tom Griscom, publisher and executive editor of the Chattanooga Times Free Press.

— West Virginia: Norman W. Shumate, vice president and chief financial officer of Charleston Newspapers.

At a meeting Sunday, the SNPA Board of Directors elected three trustees to the SNPA Foundation Board of Trustees. Elected to three-year terms were: John J. Fish, president and publisher of the Naples (Fla.) Daily News; William O. Nutting, vice president of Ogden Newspapers, Wheeling, W.Va.; and Walter E. Hussman Jr., publisher of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock. Hussman was elected to a second three-year term and re-elected to a one-year term as the trustees board’s chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *