Another Award for Reporters Who Exposed Walter Reed Scandal

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Dana Priest and Anne Hull will receive yet another prize for their investigation of outrageous conditions faced by veterans at Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

It’s the Heywood Broun Award, which the Washington Post reporters will be presented with at the May 21 Newspaper Guild-Communications Workers of America’s Freedom Award Fund Banquet in Washington, D.C.

Earlier this month, Priest and Hull won the Pulitzer Prize for public service for their Walter Reed work.

Also at the banquet, BBC Gaza correspondent Alan Johnston will receive the Newspaper Guild Herbert Block Freedom Award. That honor is named after renowned Washington Post editorial cartoonist Herblock (1909-2001).

The keynote speaker on May 21 will be David Simon, executive producer, creator, and writer of HBO’s “The Wire.” He formerly worked for The Sun of Baltimore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *