AP, ‘WSJ,’ ‘Hartford Courant’ Journos Are Finalists for Michael Kelly Awards

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Reporters from the Associated Press, the Hartford Courant, and the Wall Street Journal were among the five finalists for this year’s Michael Kelly Award, which is given each year to a journalist whose work has exhibited a “fearless pursuit and expression of truth.”

Among this year’s finalists are the Associated Press’ Rukmini Maria Callimachi, for her articles documenting the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans; Jesse Hmailton of the Hartford Courant for his coverage of the Marines in Charlie Company; and Wall Street Journal reporters Charles Forelle, James Bandler, Mark Maremont, and Steve Stecklow for their series of articles exposing stock-options backdating at major corporations.

The other finalists are C.J. Chivers, who wrote an article for Esquire reconstructing the 2004 Beslan school siege, and Vanity Fair’s William Langewiesche for his reporting from Iraq.

The winner of the prize, which will be announced next month, receives $25,000, while the four other finalists will receive $3,000.

The award was created in honor of Atlantic and National Journal editor Michael Kelly, who was killed in 2003 while covering the war in Iraq.

In past years, the award has gone to New York Times reporter Sharon LaFraniere and columnist Nicholas D. Kristof, as well as the Washington Post’s Anthony Shadid.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *