ASNE Award Winners Announced


The American Society of Newspaper Editors recently announced its 2002 awards. The winners will be honored at the ASNE convention in Washington on April 11.

The Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by a Team went to The Wall Street Journal for the paper’s coverage from Ground Zero on Sept. 11.

The Laventhol prize for individual reporting was awarded to N.R. Kleinfield of The New York Times for his reporting from New York City’s streets on the same day.

The Freedom Forum/ASNE Award for Outstanding Writing on Diversity went to Anne Hull of The Washington Post for a variety of her stories, including coverage of Muslims in Paterson, N.J.

The other winners are:

Commentary writing: Steve Lopez, Los Angeles Times

Editorial writing: John McCormick, Chicago Tribune

Nondeadline writing: Ellen Barry, The Boston Globe

Short writing: Jim Dwyer, The New York Times

Community service photojournalism: J. Albert Diaz, The Miami Herald

For more information, and a list of the finalists in each category, please visit

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *