ASU J-School Announces Two New Business Journalism Awards

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Arizona State University in Tempe, Ariz., has announced two new awards through its Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism.

The first annual Barlett and Steele Awards honoring print and online investigative business journalism will be given in the fall of 2007.

A first-place prize of $5,000 and a runner-up prize of $2,000 will be awarded. Entries must have been printed between July 1, 2006 and June 30, 2007, and the deadline for submission is August 1, 2007.

The awards are named for the two-time Pulitzer Prize winning duo of Don Barlett and Jim Steele.

?Intensified by corporate scandal, investigative business journalism has become a major part of our training workshops for journalism,? Andrew Leckey, director of the Reynolds Center said in a statement. ?Since Barlett and Steele represent the highest standard of the field, we are delighted this award will carry their names.?

Barlett and Steele have worked together for more than three decades, during which they earned two Pulitzers with The Philadelphia Inquirer, and two National Magazine Awards at Time. Currently, they are contributing editors to Vanity Fair magazine.

The Reynolds Center hosts workshops, online training seminars, and self-guided online tutorials on business journalism. It is funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, headquartered in Las Vegas, Nev.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *