ASNE Announces Awards for Best Journalism

Follow by Email
Visit Us

by: ASNE Staff | ASNE

The American Society of Newspaper Editors announced the winners and finalists of the 2015 ASNE Awards for distinguished writing and photography.


Batten Medal:

John Sutter of CNN Digital will receive $2,500 for winning the Batten Medal, which honors public-service journalism in memory of revered reporter, editor and newspaper executive James K. Batten.


Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership:

Katie Kingsbury of The Boston Globe will receive $2,500 for winning the Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership, which recognizes editorial writing that is excellent journalism and makes a difference in a community.


Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling:
Joe Mozingo and Katie Falkenberg of the Los Angeles Times are the winners of the Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling, which recognizes excellence and innovation in the use of digital tools to tell news stories. They will receive $2,500 for winning the award



Deborah Howell Award for Non-deadline Writing:
Krista Larson of The Associated Press will receive $2,500 for winning the Deborah Howell Award for Non-deadline Writing, which recognizes excellence in writing that’s not accomplished on deadline. 


Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing:

Lisa Falkenberg of the Houston Chronicle will receive $2,500 for winning the Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing, which recognizes excellence in writing by an individual that expresses a personal point of view.



Distinguished Writing on Diversity Award:
Sari Horwitz of The Washington Post is the winner of the Award for Distinguished Writing on Diversity, which recognizes writing that helps a community understand and better appreciate its racial, ethnic and religious diversity.



Local Accountability Reporting Award:
Doug Pardue, Glenn Smith, Jennifer Berry Hawes and Natalie Caula Hauff of The Post and Courier in Charleston, S.C., are the winners of the Local Accountability Reporting Award, which recognizes outstanding work done by a news organization that holds important local institutions accountable for their actions.


Community Service Photojournalism Award:
Lisa Krantz of the San Antonio Express-News is the winner of the Community Service Photojournalism Award, which rewards photography that captures the sense of a community with powerful and meaningful images and provides an understanding of the community.



Breaking News Writing Award:
The staff of the Los Angeles Times is the winner of the Breaking News Writing Award for coverage of the Isla Vista rampage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *