Brady Wins Reuben as Top Cartoonist

By: Dave Astor

“Rose is Rose” creator Pat Brady has won the Reuben Award as cartoonist of the year. Brady, whose comic strip is distributed by United Feature Syndicate, received the honor Saturday night at the National Cartoonists Society gathering in Scottsdale, Ariz. It was the 59th annual Reuben ceremony, and the eighth time Brady had been a finalist for the award.

The other two Reuben finalists this year were “Speed Bump” creator Dave Coverly of Creators Syndicate and “Bizarro” creator Dan Piraro of King Features Syndicate.

NCS awards were also presented in 12 division categories, a number of them newspaper-related. According to the NCS Web site (, winners included Jeff Parker of Florida Today in Melbourne and Cagle Cartoons for best editorial cartoons, “Dennis the Menace” cartoonist Marcus Hamilton of King for best comic panel, and “The Duplex” creator Glenn McCoy of Universal Press Syndicate for best comic strip.

McCoy also won the greeting-card category. And Michael McParlane was cited for best newspaper illustration.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *