Buyout-Depleted ‘Star-Ledger’ Reassigns Two Journos — To Mailroom

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Joe Strupp

When a newspaper cuts its staff, those who remain in the depleted newsroom become valuable. But as The Star-Ledger of Newark, N.J. slowly says farewell to 151 newsroom folks who took buyouts last month, at least two longtime journalists have been reassigned to the mailroom.

Reporter Jason Jett and Assistant Deputy Photo Editor Mitchell Seidel have been filing, sorting, and delivering mail for more than a week, according to sources.

Jett and Seidel, who could not be reached for comment, apparently declined to take one of the buyouts offered this fall as part of a companywide move to cut costs.

Publisher George Arwady threatened to sell or close the Advance Publications daily last summer if at least 200 buyouts were not taken and new deals forged with two unions.

In the end, the buyouts were met, with 151 of the newsroom’s 330 staffers taking them, along with other non-newsroom employees. In recent weeks, news folks have been leaving little by little, with all of those taking buyouts expected to depart by the end of the year.

Editor Jim Willse declined to comment on the mailroom assignment, while other staffers confirmed the move and revealed their surprise but requested anonymity.

As the buyout-takers continue to leave, the paper distributed a list to employees of those who will stay. The list is posted below.

Those staying include Willse, top columnists Bob Braun and Mark DiIonno, Pulitzer Prize winning photographer Matt Rainey, Trenton bureau chief Thomas Martello, Web site video telecast host Brian Donohue, popular sportswriters David D’Alessandro and Paul Needell, political veteran John Farmer, and TV critic Alan Sepinwall

No list of buyout-takers has been publicly distributed. But E&P has learned that it includes Assistant Features Editor Anne-Marie Cottone; Pim Van Hemmen, assistant managing editor/digital; two-time Pulitzer finalist Robin Gaby Fisher; courts and enterprise reporter John Martin; 25-year reporter Gabriel Gluck, and features writer Steve Hedgpeth, who wrote the popular Ricky Retro column.

For hot news, video, and comments go to our new blog:
The E&P Pub

The entire list of newsroom employees who are not taking buyouts includes: Nyier Abdou, Peggy Ackermann, Sharon Adarlo, Mary Ann Spoto, Susan Anderson, Mark Angeles, John Appezzato, Irv Bank, Tanya Batallas, Thomas Bergeron, Robert Bogert, Jenifer Braun, Robert Braun, Janice Brown, Jennifer Brown, Donald Burke, Barry Carter, Frank Cecala, Steven Chambers, Ellen Chase, Richard Chere, Julie Cirelli, Christopher Collins, Pablo Colon, Jeremy Cothran, Kevin Coughlin, Paul Cox, Steven Crabill, Thomas Curran, Jacinta Da Silva, David D’Alessandro, Christopher D’Amico, Thomas De Poto, Bumper Dejesus, Russell Desantis, Mark Di Ionno, Jeffrey Diamant, Mark Dimartini, Michael Donofrio, Brian Donohue, Matthew Dowling, Jeanette Rundquist, Jack Durschlag, Aristide Economopoulos, Stephen Ehringer, Susan Epstein, Vinessa Erminio, John Farmer, Timothy Farrell, Christopher Faytok, Joseph Fisher, Robert Foxworth, Michael Frassinelli, George Frederick, Alexi Friedman, Michael Garafolo, Peter Genovese, Donna Gialanella, Frank Giase, Jeffrey Glenn, Stanley Goldstein, Sarah Golin, Jennifer Golson, Phyllis Grant, Kevin Greczek, Kenneth Green, Michael Guillen, Erica Hammond, Robert Harrison, David Hawkins, Tom Haydon, Claire Heininger, Kelly Heyboer, Saed Hindash, Benjamin Horowitz, Kevin Howell, David Hutchinson, Vicki Hyman, Lisa Irizarry, Chanta Jackson, Kimberly Jackson, Jason Jett
Frederick Kaimann, Lisa Kennelly, Kelly King, Tony Kurdzuk, Leslie Kwoh, Kathleen Lanini, Debra LaQuaglia, Rudolph Larini, George Latanzio, Enrique Lavin, Steven Lay, Joseph Lee Jr., Steven Liebman, Giovanna Ligato-Pugliese, Susan Livio, James Lockwood, Thomas Luicci Jr, Alan Lukowicz, Jay Lustig, Joel Magaraci Jr, Andre Malok, Kevin Manahan, Kenya Mann, Joshua Margolin, Edward Marino, Thomas Martello, Margaret McGlone, Gerald Mc Crea, Kathleen Mc Dermott, Manish Mehta, Leonard Melisurgo, James Miller, Mark Miller
Andrew Mills, Mark Morrissey, Mark Mueller, Paul Mulshine, John Munson, Amanda Brown, Daniel Murphy, Brian Murray, Edward Murray, Noah Murray, Paul Needell, Steven Nuiver, Amy Nutt, John O’Boyle
Kathleen O’Brien, Julie O’Connor, Robert O’Connor, Mario Oliveira, Ralph Ortega, Debra Harrison, Rosemary Parrillo, Dalila Paul, Suzanne Pavkovic, Judith Peet, Donna Peger, William Perlman, Joseph Perone, Joel Pisetzner, Steven Politi, Suzanne Popadin, Brendan Prunty, Bridget Quinn, Lawrence Ragonese, Matthew Rainey, Margaret Ralph, Philip Read, William Redus, James Rife, Lisa Rose, Carolyn Rothman, Robert Russo, Joseph Ryan, Patti Sapone, Robert Sciarrino, Mitchell Seidel, Alan Sepinwall, Andrew Sheneman, Theodore Sherman, Seth Siditsky, Shawn Simons, Colin Stephenson, William Sullivan, Marianne Tamburro, Susan Todd, David Tucker, Charlie Vallely, Andrew VanEsselstyn, Rebecca Vara, Anthony Venutolo, Frank Verde, Jennifer Vrentas, Celia Webster, Jennifer Weiss, Kevin Whitmer, Stephen Whitty, Jim Willse, Robin Wilson-Glover, Kenneth Woody, Mitsutaro Yasukawa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *