Call For Entries: Eric Breindel Award Now Up to $20K

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Miki Johnson

Applications for the $20,000 Eric Breindel Award are now being accepted.

The annual prize, doubled this year from $10,000, honors the columnist, editorialist, or reporter whose work best honors the spirit of former New York Post editor and columnist Breindel. This is described by the foundation as “love of country and its democratic institutions” and “bearing witness to the evils of totalitarianism.”

Breindel, who died in 1998 at age 42, had been named senior vice president of News Corporation the year before and previously had been a moderator on Fox New Watch and had worked on the Senate Intelligence Committee.

Claudia Rosett, Journalist-in-Residence for The Foundation for the Defense of Democracies, won last year’s award. Other past recipients have included Daniel Paul Henninger, Deputy Editor, Editorial Page of The Wall Street Journal,; Boston Globe columnist Jeff Jacoby; and a posthumous award to former Editor-at-Large of The Atlantic Monthly, Michael Kelly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *