Cartoonists Nominated for Reuben

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Dave Astor

The creators of “Rose is Rose,” “Luann,” and “Bizarro” have been nominated for the National Cartoonists Society’s Reuben Award as cartoonist of the year. The winner will be named May 29 at the NCS meeting in Kansas City.

United Media syndicates Pat Brady’s “Rose is Rose” and Greg Evans’ “Luann,” while King Features Syndicate distributes Dan Piraro’s “Bizarro.”

Finalists were also named in 12 categories, including some that are newspaper-related.

Comic strip nominees are “Red & Rover” creator Brian Basset of the Washington Post Writers Group, “The Duplex” creator Glenn McCoy of Universal Press Syndicate, and “Pearls Before Swine” creator Stephan Pastis of United.

Comic panel finalists are “Pardon My Planet” creator Vic Lee of King, “off the mark” creator Mark Parisi of United, and “Ballard Street” creator Jerry Van Amerongen of Creators Syndicate.

Editorial cartoon nominees are Mike Luckovich of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Creators, Ted Rall of Universal, and Tom Toles of The Washington Post and Universal.

Among the scheduled speakers at the Kansas City weekend are “Mutts” creator Patrick McDonnell of King and former Village Voice/Universal cartoonist Jules Feiffer, who will receive the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award. There’s also a “roast” of Mell Lazarus, who does the “Momma” and “Miss Peach” comics for Creators and was formerly NCS president. The current president is Steve McGarry, whose features include the “Mullets” comic he co-creates with Rick Stromoski for Universal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *