Copley News Service Bureau Chief Wins Cabot Prize

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

S. Lynne Walker, the Mexico City bureau chief for Copley News Service is one of four journalists who will be awarded the Maria Moors Cabot Prize for outstanding reporting on Latin America, the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism announced Tuesday.

Walker was cited for going to “extraordinary lengths to find original ways of telling the remarkable stories of ordinary people whose voices might otherwise not be heard” during her 15 years reporting on Mexico and Central America.

Also winning the Cabot Prize is Miriam Leitao, a reporter and columnist for the Brazilian newspaper O Globo and contributor to Rede Globo and Radio CBN. Leitao is “a multimedia Brazilian journalist whose reporting has been an outstanding example of explanatory journalism,” the school said.

Mabel Rehnfeldt an investigative reporter for the Paraguayan daily ABC Color was chosen as the third winner for being “a relentless journalistic force against corruption and abuse of power in Paraguay.”

Tim Padgett, the Miami and Latin America bureau chief for Time Magazine, was chosen as the fourth journalist because, the school said, he “represents the personal and professional commitment to Latin America that the Cabot Prize was intended to honor.”

The Cabot Prize board said it will also award a special citation to the Costa Rican newspaper La Nacion for “outstanding work in investigative journalism that had an impact across the Americas.”

Founded in 1938 by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston as a memorial to his wife, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes are the oldest international award in journalism, according to Columbia.

Columbia President Lee C. Bollinger will present the prizes at a dinner and ceremony on Thursday, October 20, at 7 p.m. in the Rotunda of Low Memorial Library, located on the Columbia campus. Each prize-winner receives a Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium. News organizations that employ the winners receive bronze plaques.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *