CPJ Adds Three to its Board of Directors

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The Committee to Protect Journalists has added three journalists to its
board of directors: Kathleen Carroll of The Associated Press, Lara Logan of CBS News, and David E. Schlesinger of Reuters.

Executive editor and senior vice president of The Associated Press, Carroll
oversees AP’s content worldwide. She aided in the AP’s transition into new media, and has been a writer and editor in four AP bureaus. Before joining AP in 1978, Carroll was a reporter at The Dallas Morning News. Since 2003, she has served on the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Logan is chief foreign affairs correspondent for CBS News. She covers
foreign affairs and international security issues from Washington and has
reported from the war in Iraq. Logan has also done extensive reporting from Afghanistan and Pakistan. She has received several awards including an Emmy Award, an Overseas Press Club Award, and a RTNDA/Edward R. Murrow Award for her 2006 report on American troops under fire in Ramadi, Iraq.

Also new to the board is Schlesinger, the editor-in-chief of Reuters News at Thomson Reuters. Schlesinger joined Reuters in 1987 as a correspondent in the Hong Kong bureau. From 1989 to 1995, he managed Reuters editorial operations in Taiwan, China, and the Greater China region, and has also served as Reuters global managing editor. Schlesinger is also chairman of the Dannenberg Oberlin-in-London Program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *