CPJ Announces International Press Freedom Awards

By: E&P Staff

Last night, the Committee to Protect Journalists held its 20th annual dinner and ceremony to present the International Press Freedom awards.

The event, held in the Grand Ballroom of the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City, raised a record-setting $1.5 million to support CPJ’s mission of press freedom.

The awardees are:

Mohammad Davari, Iran
Nadira Isayeva, Russia
Dawit Kebede, Ethiopia
Laureano Márquez, Venezuela

Burton Benjamin Award:
Aryeh Neier, United States

2009 winner J.S. Tissainayagam was also on hand to accept his award from last year, when he was imprisoned in Sri Lanka.

For video and biographies of all the winners, click here.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *