CPJ to Honor Five Journos for Press Freedom Contributions

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

At an awards ceremony in November that coincides with its 25th anniversary, The Committee to Protect Journalists will honor four journalists — from Colombia, Yemen, the Gambia and Iraq — for their dedication to printing the truth despite threats, attacks and improsonment.

The press freedom group will present its annual International Press Freedom Awards this year to Jesus Abad Colorado of Colombia, Jamal Amer of Yemen, and Madi Ceesay of the Gambia, who risked their lives to report the news during the past year. The fourth award will go to posthumously honor Al-Arabiya correspondent Atwar Bahjat, who was killed in Samarra, Iraq, in February while covering a bombing.

CPJ will also honor newspaper editor, television journalist, foundation executive, and teacher Hodding Carter III with its Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement. Carter’s career included television work as reporter, anchor, and panelist for public affairs programs, as well as a stint as president and CEO of the Knight Foundation where he gave support to local journalists in developing countries and journalists at risk.

“Exposing corruption, criticizing authorities for abuse of power, or reporting from the front line of local conflicts are just some of the ways these reporters do their jobs and inspire us. With these awards, CPJ hopes to strengthen protections for journalists worldwide,” saidCPJ Executive Director Joel Simon in a statement.

The awards will be presented on November 21 in New York.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *