Creators Cartoonist Coverly Wins 2009 Reuben Award

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

“Speed Bump” cartoonist Dave Coverly is the winner of the 2009 Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year. Coverly received the honor during the National Cartoonist Society’s 2009 Reuben awards this past weekend.

Coverly has been nominated for the NCS’ top honor for the past four years. Also nominated for the honor were Stephan Pastis (?Pearls Before Swine?) and Dan Piraro (?Bizarro?).

Distributed by Creators Syndicate, ?Speed Bump? received the Reuben award for Best Newspaper Panel in 1995 and 2003. His line of greeting cards based on the strip was also recognized by the NCS in 1998, when he received the Reuben award for Best Greeting Cards. ?Speed Bump? appears in more than 400 newspapers and Web sites worldwide.

Two of the past four Reuben awards for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year have been won by Creators Syndicate cartoonists (Mike Luckovich in 2007 and Coverly in 2009).

The Reuben Award for Editorial Cartoons went to another Creators Syndicate artist, Michael Ramirez. Ramirez is currently a senior editor and the editorial cartoonist for Investor’s Business Daily. He is a two-time Pulitzer Prize winner, and won the Fishcetti Award in 2008.

Three of the last four Pulitzer prizes for editorial cartoonists have gone to artists that are currently distributed by Creators Syndicate (Mike Luckovich in 2006, Michael Ramirez in 2008 and Steve Breen in 2009). These wins have brought the total number of Pulitzer Prizes given to Creators Syndicate columnists and cartoonists to nine, more than any other newspaper syndicate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *