‘E&P’ Goes to Press, Possibly for Last Time?

By: Greg Mitchell

Yesterday, at 2 p.m., we shipped the possibly final issue of Editor & Publisher from our office here at Astor Place in New York City.

For the record, it is the January 2010 issue, so we made it into our 126th year, at least. But hope remains that we will continue.

As many know, we got our inexplicable closing notice from The Nielsen Co. on December 10, which was met by outrage, thousands of supportive messages and even an unlikely place on the Twitter trending list.

Staffers decided to stay on to finish that issue and keep our Web site going — Steve Outing’s latest column just went up — until the end of the year in hopes of encouraging outside help and bids for a takeover.

Indeed, there has been a lot of interest but no firm news to report as yet. We are scheduled to vacate our offices by the end of Thursday, though, of course, E&P could always be brought back a bit later, or online only. We hope to have something positive to report by Thursday. Evacuating the office does not mean that we will not re-assemble shortly. This web site will not be taken down.

You can still reach staffers at our office emails this week. See below for all of them, plus home emails. Stay tuned, and thanks again for your backing and kind words.

E&P’s publisher, Charles McKeown, can be reached at:

cmckeown@editorandpublisher.com

Editor Greg Mitchell:

gmitchell@editorandpublisher.com

Other editorial staff members can still be emailed at:

smoynihan@editorandpublisher.com
jsaba@editorandpublisher.com
mfitzgerald@editorandpublisher.com
jstrupp@editorandpublisher.com
jrosenberg@editorandpublisher.com
rmatsuo@editorandpublisher.com

Home emails:

Greg Mitchell: Epic1934@aol.com
Shawn Moynihan: smoynihan224@yahoo.com
Joe Strupp: JoeStrupp@aol.com
Jennifer Saba: jensaba@gmail.com
Mark Fitzgerald: fitzbeat@yahoo.com
Jim Rosenberg: alanstilli@yahoo.com
Reiko Matsuo: reikomatsuo@comcast.net
Charles McKeown: svea123@computer.net
Betsy Maloney: maloney.betsy1@gmail.com

RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *