Entry Deadline for Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism is Feb. 24

By: E&P Staff

Now in its seventh year of honoring the high ethical standards of print, broadcast, and new media journalism, the Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism is seeking entries by the Feb. 24 deadline.

Administered by the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication, the Payne Awards include $1,000 stipends each for the Individual, Organization and Student categories in print, broadcast, and new media.

Last year?s winners included: The Denver Post (adhered to established privacy policy by not naming alleged rape victim even though competing media did); Kevin Sites (responded thoughtfully, including use of his blog, when his war footage generated negative reaction); Jon Leiberman (special citation for speaking out when he disagreed with his employer, even at the risk of being fired); The State Press (the staff of the Arizona State University student newspaper worked well with administrators when they and alumni reacted to a photo accompanying a story).

Other past winners include Jay Harris, KOMU-TV, and Voice of America (2002); Paul DeMain (2003); Virginia Gerst and The Bakersfield Californian (2004).

For more information, visit the Web site, payneawards.uoregon.edu, e-mail payneawards@jcomm.uoregon.edu or call 1-888-644-7989.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *