First Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship Winner Named

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

A sophomore at the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) has won the first annual Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship from the National Cartoonists Society Foundation (NCSF).

Juana Medina edged out almost 200 applicants for the award, which includes a $5,000 scholarship and a trip to the National Cartoonists Society’s Reuben Award convention in New Orleans. She’ll receive her award at the Reuben banquet on May 24.

Medina — chosen by a jury of 10 cartoonists — was born and raised in Bogota, Colombia. She completed high school in 1998 and then moved to the U.S., where she has lived since.

The scholarship winner is a regular contributor to the College Hill Independent, a weekly magazine produced by students at Brown University and RISD. Her work has also appeared in publications in South America, and has been part of collective exhibitions in Colombia and Mexico.

In her application for the award, Medina wrote that she “grew up in a country where war has been a constant since long before I was born … but I have found in cartooning a voice that strongly reflects my feelings and intentions.”

The NCSF — which is the nonprofit charitable arm of the National Cartoonists Society — said the scholarship was created to honor Jay Kennedy, the longtime King Features Syndicate editor in chief and comics editor who died last year.

Medina’s work can be seen here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *