Former ‘Rocky’ Cartoonist Wins Social Justice Award

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Editorial cartoonist Ed Stein, late of the former Rocky Mountain News in Denver, is among the list of recipients for The 2009 Aronson Awards for Social Justice Journalism.

The Aronson Awards have been presented since 1990 to journalists ?who measure business, government and social affairs against clear ideals of the common good,? according to its Web site. They are named in honor of James Aronson, the distinguished Hunter College professor of journalism who was editor from 1949 to 1967 of The National Guardian. Aronson also worked on the staffs of the Boston Evening Transcript, New York Herald Tribune and The New York Times.

Stein is bestowed the award for ?the graphic sophistication and range of his work in 2008 on the economy, torture and other crucial issues,? the Awards committee states. Stein, who has received numerous accolades throughout his career, is syndicated by United Media and is a former president of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

The 2009 Aronson Awards will be presented in a public ceremony on May 13 at the Hunter West Building, at 68th Street and Lexington Avenue in Manhattan.

The members of the Aronson Awards Committee are David Alm, Grambs Miller Aronson, Christopher T. Cory, Steve Gorelick, Marya Grambs, Kathy Kadane, Philip Kaye, Rhoda Nayor, Peter Parisi, Robin Reisig, Cindy Rodr?guez, Dr. Naomi Rosenblum, John J. Simon, Alice Slater, Ida Susser, Blanca V?zquez and Diana Powell Ward.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *