‘Frontline’ to Receive Murrow Award


The PBS show “Frontline” and two of its producers will receive Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in broadcast journalism, Washington State University announced Friday.

The 2007 awards for “journalistic integrity and courage” will be shared by the program and producers David Fanning and Michael Sullivan at a campus ceremony on April 10.

“‘Frontline’ has set a standard for excellence in journalism as part of our lives for years,” said V. Lane Rawlins, president of WSU, where the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication is located. “Recognition of ‘Frontline’ is a fitting tribute to the Murrow legacy.”

Fanning began the development of “Frontline” in 1982 and has been executive producer since the program’s first season. The investigative documentary series started in 1983.

Sullivan was promoted to executive producer for special projects in 2002 after serving as the series’ senior producer and then executive producer.

Murrow, a 1930 graduate of Washington State University, was a pioneer in radio and television news who helped establish the standards for the industry.

The Murrow Award began in 1997, when it was given to ABC news correspondent Sam Donaldson. Other Murrow winners include Walter Cronkite, Ted Turner, Bernard Shaw, Daniel Schorr, Christiane Amanpour, Peter Jennings and Tom Brokaw.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *