Health Care Journalism Award Winners Announced

By: E&P Staff

The Association of Health Care Journalists has announced the winners of the 2006 Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism. The annual awards recognize distinguished reporting one heath issues in print, broadcast and online media.

“Across all categories, the entries were outstanding,” said Julie Appleby, co-chair of the contest and a USA Today health writer in a written statement. “This year’s winners clearly explained topics that touch so many, from concerns about medical quality and privacy to the heartbreak and confusion surrounding a cancer diagnosis.?

Here’s a list of the winners in the newspaper category:

Large newspapers (over 250,000 circulation) and wire services

First place: “Saving Bobby,” Bryn Nelson, Newsday
Second place: “License to Harm,” Michael Berens, Julia Sommerfeld and Carol Ostrom, The Seattle Times
Third place: “After the Fall,” Alice Dembner, The Boston Globe

Medium newspapers (90,000 to 250,000 circulation)

First place: “A Mother’s Journey,” Cynthia Hubert, The Sacramento Bee
Second place: “The Insidious Fog: A Journey into Alzheimer’s,” Special Project Team, Ottawa Citizen
Third place: “Nikki: The Girl with No Brain,” Nichole Aksamit, Omaha World-Herald
Third place: “Prisoner of His Thoughts,” Felice Freyer, The Providence Journal

Small newspapers (under 90,000 circulation)

First place: “The Killer Cure,” Tara Tuckwiller and Scott Finn, The Charleston (W. Va.) Gazette
Second Place: “Chronic Care, Chronic Costs,” Sarah Arnquist, Daily Republic, Fairfield, Calif.
Third place: “Still Lisa,” Lois M. Collins, Elaine Jarvik, Deseret Morning News, Salt Lake City

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *