Indiana University Journalism to Honor Six Alumni

By: Indiana University Press Release

Indiana University Journalism will honor six alumni, including digital news innovators, educators and reporters, at its fourth annual Distinguished Alumni Awards celebration Sept. 13.

“We’re delighted to honor this year’s class of distinguished alumni,” said interim dean Lesa Hatley Major. “Although their careers vary widely, from newspaper journalists to educators to executives at high-tech media companies, all built on the foundation they established at IU to excel in their fields.”

Representatives from the journalism alumni board, faculty and staff, and the university at large select award recipients. The guidelines state that those eligible for the award include former students “who have become leaders in journalism and other fields, as well as honorary alumni and students who majored in other fields but took significant journalism coursework or worked on IU student media.”

The six recipients are:

Sharon Dunwoody, BA’69, PhD’78
Sharon Dunwoody is the Evjue-Bascom Professor Emerita at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In her award-winning research career, Dunwoody focuses on the construction of media science messages and on how people use those messages for various cognitive and behavioral purposes.

David C. Krane, BAJ’94
David C. Krane took his journalism skills, his innate curiosity and the scientific influence of his nuclear physicist father and combined them into a career as a Google pioneer. Krane was part of Google’s senior leadership team in its early days as a start-up, serving as senior director of global communications and public affairs. He now is a general partner in Google Ventures, which invests in start-up technology companies.

Everett G. Martin, BA’49
Everett G. Martin spent his career reporting from some of the world’s most turbulent locales. He was Newsweek’s bureau chief in Saigon during the war in Vietnam and covered the 1973 Chilean coup for The Wall Street Journal. His work won the Overseas Press Club’s Ed Stout Award in 1973 and Columbia University’s Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 1983. He retired in 1988 and died in 2013.

Raju Narisetti, MA’91
Raju Narisetti is senior vice president for strategy at News Corp, leading the company’s global efforts on issues pertaining to digital newsrooms, advertising, data privacy and paywalls. His career includes other positions at The Wall Street Journal, including managing editor of the European edition. He also was a managing editor at The Washington Post, and he founded Mint, a business publication in India.

Tim Nickens, BA’82
Tim Nickens is the editor of editorials at the Tampa Bay Times. He and columnist Daniel Ruth won the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for a series of editorials that urged county officials to restore fluoride to the water supply. The series also won the 2013 Scripps Howard Foundation’s Walker Stone Award. Nickens has worked as political editor, metro editor and assistant managing editor at the newspaper.

Martha Moutoux Steffens, BA’78
Martha Moutoux Steffens ended a 30-year career in newspapers as executive editor of the San Francisco Examiner, then shifted her focus to education. She joined the University of Missouri School of Journalism in 2002, sharing her expertise with college students and with hundreds of professionals around the world. Steffens has organized more than 100 workshops for journalists in 28 countries on topics from local business reporting to covering global financial markets.

The awards will be presented during a banquet in Presidents Hall, located in Franklin Hall, the future home of The Media School. IU Journalism will be part of The Media School effective July 1. The evening begins with a reception, followed by dinner and presentation of the awards, which will include video tributes of the honorees’ careers. The recipients and families and colleagues of the deceased recipients will be on hand to accept the awards.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *