Kristof, Luckovich, Morrissey Win ‘The Week’ Opinion Awards

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Joe Strupp

The Week, which collects opinions and articles from a string of publications every seven days, announced its annual opinion awards Tuesday night, honoring winners that span the old-world print of The New York Times to the new age of blogging.

At a gala in the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C., the publication bestowed its awards on Nicholas D. Kristof of the New York Times, for columnist of the year; Mike Luckovich of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Creators Syndicate, for editorial cartoonist of the year; and Ed Morrissey for blogger of the year.

“We congratulate and commend the winners of this year’s Opinion Awards for consistently raising the bar in their individual mediums,” said William Falk, Editor-in-Chief of The Week. “These individuals’ collective works clearly demonstrate the vitality of opinion journalism.”

Winners were chosen by senior editors of The Week and a panel of 22 that included Falk, Sir Harold Evans, Walter Isaacson, Margaret B. Carlson, Susan Cheever, Monica Crowley, former Gov. Mario M. Cuomo, James F. Hoge, Jr., Alex S. Jones, Geneva Overholser, and former Gov. William F. Weld.

Finalists in each category (besides the eventual winners) were:

Columnist of the Year:
? David Brooks, The New York Times
? Jonathan Chait, The New Republic
? Charles Krauthammer, The Washington Post
? Kathleen Parker, Orlando Sentinel
? Eugene Robinson, The Washington Post
? Debra J. Saunders, San Francisco Chronicle

Editorial Cartoonist of the Year:
? Chip Bok, Akron (Ohio) Beacon Journal, Creators Syndicate
? David Horsey, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Tribune Media Services
? Steve Kelley, The Times-Picayune of New Orleans, Creators Syndicate
? Jack Ohman, The (Portland) Oregonian, Tribune Media Services

Blogger of the Year:
? John Aravosis
? Arianna Huffington
? Brendan Loy
? Michelle Malkin

Last year’s winners were Peter Beinart of The New Republic for Columnist of the Year, Tom Toles of The Washington Post as Editorial Cartoonist of the Year, and PowerLine as Blogger of the Year. A conservative site has won for Blogger of the Year two years running.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *