Larry Kramer Receives Individual EPpy Award

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Editor & Publisher and Mediaweek magazines have chosen Chairman and CEO Larry Kramer as the recipient of the 2004 EPpy Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement.

The founder of business news provider, Kramer has a career spanning the editorial and business sides of newspapers and media companies. He founded MarketWatch as a joint venture between Data Broadcasting Corp. and CBS in October 1997, and has led the company ever since. The company achieved profitability in 2003 and has distribution spanning the Internet, television and radio. MarketWatch also offers paid subscription products.

He joined Data Broadcasting Corp. in 1994, following its acquisition of DataSport to run a sports and news division. There he created DBC News, the predecessor company to and served as vice president of news, sports & marketing for DBC.

As founder, president and executive editor of DataSport Inc. from 1991-1994, Kramer created SporTrax, a hand-held sports information monitor, launched under a marketing agreement with The Sporting News.

Prior to founding DataSport, he spent more than 20 years in journalism as a reporter and editor. Kramer started his career in 1974 as a reporter for the San Francisco Examiner. In 1977 he became a financial reporter for The Washington Post. In 1980, the Post promoted him to executive editor of The Trenton (N.J.) Times. In 1982 he returned to the Post to serve first as assistant to Executive Editor Benjamin C. Bradlee and later as assistant managing editor and metro editor. In 1986 he returned to the San Francisco Examiner as executive editor.

During his newspaper career, he won a National Press Club Award, Gerald E. Loeb Award and Associated Press Awards for reporting. His staffs have won the Pulitzer Prize, Overseas Press Club Award, Seldon Ring Investigative Reporting Award and National Headliners Award.

Kramer was committee chairman of the American Society of Newspaper Editors and served as a member of the Pulitzer Prize jury. He was a founding board member of the Online Publishers Association and was elected chairman in February 2004.

Kramer will be honored at the EPpy Awards luncheon on May 12 at the Interactive Media Conference and Trade Show in Atlanta. Winners of the 2004 EPpy Awards in 29 contest categories will also be announced.

The award has been given four times previously to individuals who have made professional contributions to the interactive industry. The previous recipients were Rich Jaroslovsky, Steve Yelvington, Steve Outing and Chris Jennewein.

For more information about the EPpy Awards, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *