Lopez to Receive Lifetime Award

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Dave Astor

Los Angeles Times columnist Steve Lopez will receive the 2004 Ernie Pyle Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Society of Newspaper Columnists this spring.

The presentation will take place at the NSNC’s June 10-13 conference in New Orleans.

Lopez joined the Times in 2001 after four years at Time Inc. Before that, he was an award-winning columnist for 12 years at The Philadelphia Inquirer. Earlier newspaper jobs included the San Jose (Calif.) Mercury News and Oakland (Calif.) Tribune. He is also the author of three novels.

Previous winners of the NSNC honor include David Broder, Herb Caen, Molly Ivins, Mary McGrory, William Raspberry, Richard Reeves, Andy Rooney, and Chuck Stone, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *