McClatchy Takes Home Three National Journalism Awards

By: E&P Staff

Journalists for McClatchy Co. have won three National Journalism Awards from the Scripps Howard Foundation. They were honored for Washington reporting, commentary, and human interest reporting.

Marisa Taylor, Margaret Talev, and Greg Gordon, reporters for McClatchy?s Washington Bureau, received the Raymond Clapper award for their coverage of the firing of U.S. attorneys and the connection to officials in the White House and the Justice Department. Their work led to a congressional investigation and the resignation of Attorney General Alberto Gonzales and others involved in the scandal.

Jason Whitlock, a sports columnist at The Kansas City Star, won for commentary, and was praised for his ability to weave sports and social commentary together. Ana Men?ndez at the Miami Herald was also a finalist for commentary.

Anchorage Daily News reporter Julia O’Malley won the Ernie Pyle award for finding interesting stories in such varied places as living rooms, a Buddhist temple, and university computer labs.

McClatchy was the only media company to win three of the prestigious awards. This follows their other recent honors at the George Polk Awards last month, where McClatchy was the only company to take home multiple awards.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *