‘Miami Herald,’ ‘Boston Globe’ Among Winners of SATW Awards

By: E&P Staff

The Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) Foundation has announced the winners of its 22nd annual Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition. Among the newspaper winners are The Miami Herald, The Seattle Times, the Los Angeles Times, The Oregonian in Portland, The Times-Picayune in New Orleans, and the Houston Chronicle.

The Miami Herald won two gold awards, including the top Grand Award-Travel Journalist of the Year for Travel Editor Jane Wooldridge, and best travel section for a newspaper within the 300,000 to 499,999 circulation category. The silver award for travel journalist of the year went to Travel Writer Carol Pucci of the Seattle Times and bronze went to Millie Ball, travel editor of the Times-Picayune.

The Boston Globe won the gold award for the best travel section of a paper with at least 500,000 circulation, and The Ottawa (Ontario) Citizen in Canada won gold for a newspaper with circulation under 350,000.

Several other winners were named in the 27 categories of the competition, which drew 1,392 entries this year. The competition, judged by the faculty of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, honors both newspapers and magazines in North America.

The contest is named after the late Lowell Thomas, an acclaimed broadcast journalist, author, and world explorer.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *