Missouri J-School Gives Annual Awards for ‘Distinguished Service’

Follow by Email
Visit Us


Eight journalists, including some who have worked to improve life in South Africa and Afghanistan, will receive awards next month from the University of Missouri School of Journalism.

The journalism program has awarded honor medals “for distinguished service in journalism” each year since 1930.

The winners are expected to teach master’s level classes at the school on Nov. 1, and then receive their medals at an awards banquet on campus.

This year’s award winners are:

— Clifford G. Christians, a professor of journalism and media studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

— Reza Deghati, photojournalist who founded AINA, an organization which is working to help develop an independent media and culture in Afghanistan. He also has worked for National Geographic magazine since 1991.

— Karen Brown Dunlap, president of The Poynter Institute, a journalism think tank, in St. Petersburg, Fla.

— Zubeida Jaffer, a South African journalist and political analyst for the Institute of Justice and Reconciliation, who was an activist against apartheid.

— Bill Kovach and Tom Rosenstiel and the Committee of Concerned Journalists, a Washington, D.C.-based organization focused on standards in the journalism profession. Kovach is its founding director and chairman, while Rosenstiel is the vice chairman.

— John Seigenthaler, founder of the First Amendment Center at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn., and founding editorial director of USA Today.

— Chuck Curtis, chairman of Kansas City-based Valentine Radford/Square One Advertising agency, whose clients include Pizza Hut, the Dallas Cowboys, Sprint Yellow Pages and others. Curtis is credited with helping to lead community initiatives to improve the Kansas City area.

Previous winners included British prime minister Winston Churchill, former NBC news anchor Tom Brokaw and CNN reporter Christiane Amanpour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *