‘N.Y. Times,’ ‘Washington Post’ Multiple Winners of Overseas Press Club Awards for International Reporting


The New York Times and The Washington Post were honored with multiple Overseas Press Club Awards for excellence in international journalism, while The Associated Press earned a citation for “exceptional courage” in photography during the war in Gaza.

The Times and Post each won two awards to lead all news organizations. A Post writer was also awarded for his book, “The Good Soldiers.”

The AP won the Robert Capa Gold Medal Award for best photography reporting from abroad. Khalil Hamra took pictures of the Israeli military incursion into Gaza early last year.

The 71st annual awards will be presented Thursday at a dinner in New York. Kimberly Dozier, the AP’s new intelligence reporter and a veteran correspondent who was injured in Iraq four years ago, will be the master of ceremonies.

Farnaz Fassihi of the Wall Street Journal was named the winner of the Hal Boyle Award for best newspaper reporting from abroad for “Hearts, Minds and Blood: The Battle for Iran.” The judging committee noted her “courageous reporting under tremendous pressure that gave an inside view of the unfolding drama in Iran.”

Another honoree is Andrew A. Rooney of CBS, who will receive the President’s Award for lifetime achievement. Times correspondent David Rohde will light the Press Freedom Candle in honor of the 71 journalists killed last year in the line of duty. Rohde was a Pulitzer Prize finalist in 2010 for his account of being held prisoner by the Taliban for seven months before he escaped.

The Times’ winners include Alissa J. Rubin, who won the award for best magazine reporting from abroad about a story on a would-be female suicide bomber in Iraq, and Keith Bradsher, who won for best business reporting on the contradictions and promise of China’s environmental push.

The Post reporting team of Bob Woodward, Rajiv Chandrasekaran and Karen DeYoung won for best news interpretation for their series on the Barack Obama administration’s search for a new Afghanistan strategy. Post photographer Sarah L. Voisin won for her images of the people in Mexican communities affected by drug wars.

Santiago Lyon, the director of photography for the AP, praised Hamra, whose wife was pregnant with twins during the conflict. The AP last won the Capa medal in 1977.

“His work shows exceptional courage and enterprise during a sustained and highly dangerous conflict,” Lyon said. “His images are close up, powerful and direct and taken at considerable risk due to the nature of the conflict, which had combatants mingling amongst the civilian population.”

“The Good Soldiers,” written by the Post’s David Finkel and published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, won the best nonfiction book award on international affairs.

ProPublica, with reporters T. Christian Miller, Doug Smith and Pratap Chatterjee, won the award for Web coverage of international affairs for “Disposable Army: Civilian Contractors in Iraq and Afghanistan.”

Marcela Gaviria and Martin Smith, both of Rain Media, and David Fanning of Frontline won the Edward R. Murrow Award for “Obama’s War” for best TV interpretation or documentary on international affairs.

The Overseas Press Club Awards were founded in 1940 to recognize excellence in foreign coverage in the categories of print, broadcast and photography.

Other winners:

? David Burnett, Robert Pledge and Jacques Menasche of National Geographic Books/Focal Point with Contact Press Images, best photographic reporting from abroad in magazines or books, for “44 Days: Iran and the Remaking of the World”

? Alvaro Ybarra Zavala of Getty Images, best photographic reporting from abroad in magazines or books, for “The Gunmen of the Bolivian Revolution.”

? Q. Sakamaki of Redux Pictures/Time, best feature photography published in any medium on an international theme, for “Xinjiang: Shifting Sands.”

? Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson, Lauren Jenkins and Douglas Roberts of National Public Radio, best radio news or interpretation of international affairs, for “Afghanistan: Nightmares and Dreams of a Nation at War.”

? David Martin, Mary Walsh, Rob Blache, Ken Crump, Ward Sloane and Rick Kaplan of CBS Evening News, best TV spot news reporting from abroad, for “The Battle of Wanat.”

? Leon Geller, Marcus Vetter, Tom Casciato, Nina Chaudry, Jeff Seelbach and Aaron Brown of WNET-TV New York/WNET.org, best international reporting in the broadcast media showing a concern for the human condition, for “Wide Angle: Heart of Jenin.”

? Michael Lewis of Vanity Fair, best business reporting from abroad in magazines, for “Wall Street on the Tundra.”

? Abigail Haworth of Marie Claire, best international reporting in the print medium showing a concern for the human condition, for “Forced to be Fat.”

? Maziar Bahari of Newsweek, best international reporting in a print medium dealing with human rights, for “118 Days in Hell.”

? Jason Gale of Bloomberg Markets, best reporting in any medium on international environmental issues, for “Sanitation Nightmare.”

? Jon Lee Anderson of The New Yorker, best reporting in any medium on Latin America, for “Gangland.”

? Nate Beeler of The Washington Examiner for best cartoons on international affairs.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *