Nation’s Best Headline Writers Honored

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The American Copy Editors Society today awarded over $1,000 in prizes in its national headline contest. The winners were announced at the society’s conference in Houston.

The Los Angeles Times took the top prize in the staff category. The paper’s copy editing team included Dave Barton, Art Buckler, Jim Coleman, Pat Connell, Mike Davis, Laura Dominick, Dan Donovan, Steve Horn and Marc Olson.

First place prizes in circulation-based categories went to Jim Webster of the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times, Vic Odegar of The Beaumont (Texas) Enterprise, and Matt Ochsner of the Great Falls (Mont.) Tribune.

A panel of judges reviews over 240 entries, a record for the contest — which for the first time presented cash awards.

Winning headlines and comments from judges may be viewed at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *