National Cartoonists Society Announces Award Finalists

By: E&P Staff

A number of syndicated cartoonists are among the just-announced nominees for the National Cartoonist Society’s (NCS) division awards.

Finalists for top editorial cartoonist are Gary Brookins of the Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch and King Features Syndicate, Mike Ramirez of Investor’s Business Daily and Copley News Service, and Bill Schorr of United Media.

Nominees for best newspaper strip include Paul Gilligan (“Pooch Cafe”/Universal Press Syndicate), Jim Meddick (“Monty”/United), and Richard Thompson (“Cul de Sac”/Universal).

Finalists for best newspaper panel haven’t been announced yet.

There are 12 division categories in all, with the majority not newspaper-related. But some syndicated cartoonists are nominees in categories such as greeting cards.

The winners will be announced May 24 during the NCS Reuben Award weekend in New Orleans.

Finalists for the cartoonist-of-the-year Reuben were reported by E&P on March 7. They include Dan Piraro (“Bizarro”/King), Dave Coverly (“Speed Bump”/Creators), and Al Jaffee (Mad magazine).

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *