Newspaper Comic Pioneer Makes a Cartooning Hall of Fame

By: E&P Staff

R.F. Outcault, creator of what’s considered the first modern newspaper comic, was elected to the Hall of Fame during the Eisner Awards ceremony this past weekend in San Diego.

Outcault (1863-1928) originated the “Down in Hogan’s Alley” cartoon feature starring The Yellow Kid in the mid-1890s. He went on to create the “Buster Brown” comic strip as well.

Among the various Eisner category winners was the “Terry and the Pirates” collection edited and designed by Dean Mullaney for The Library of American Comics imprint from IDW.

“Terry and the Pirates” was by Milton Caniff (1907-1988), who did the comic from 1934 to 1946 before creating the “Steve Canyon” strip that ran from 1947 to 1988.

A list of other Eisner winners can be seen in the July 26 area of Tom Spurgeon’s Comics Reporter blog.

The awards are named after Will Eisner (1917-2005), creator of “The Spirit” newspaper supplement from 1940 to 1952 as well as a comic-book cartoonist, graphic novelist, and teacher.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *