Newspapers Score at National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Awards

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Times Magazine, and The Record of Bergen County, N.J., are among those honored by this year’s National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association’s Excellence in Journalism Awards.

The awards, announced Aug. 5, recognized several newspaper writers. Carolyn Lochhead, Washington bureau chief for the San Francisco Chronicle, received an honorable mention in the “Journalist of the Year” category.

Kerry Eleveld of The Advocate was this year’s recipient of the Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for Excellence in LGBT Media. Named for the late Newsweek journalist and founding editor of Out magazine, the award recognizes outstanding contributions by a journalist working in the LGBT media.

“Eleveld needs to be commended for pushing for a D.C. bureau for The Advocate,” the judges wrote. “From her unique place inside the White House, she’s consistently making news and controlling the direction of news stories.”

Jen Colletta of the Philadelphia Gay News took home the Excellence in News Writing Award for her story “Researchers: Gays Excluded from Clinical Trials.” In the same category, reporter Phillip Zonkel of the Press-Telegram in long Beach, Calif., received an honorable mention for his “Suffering in Silence.”

The New York Times Magazine’s Benoit Denizet-Lewis won the Excellence in Feature Writing Award for “Coming Out in Middle School,” while Alfred P. Doblin of The Record in Bergen County, N.J., garnered an honorable mention for “Stonewall Started It.”

Maya Rupert of the LA Watts Times took the Excellence in Opinion Writing Award for “I Believe in America,” while Scott A. Drake of the Philadelphia Gay News scored  the Excellence in Photojournalism Award for “PDA With a Purpose.”

Check out the full list of winners here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *