Novak, Shalit Among 15 Inducted Into U Of Illinois J-Hall Of Fame

By: E&P Staff

Syndicated columnist Robert Novak is among 15 prominent media figures who began as student journalists at the University of Illinois who are being inducted into the school’s Illini Media Hall of Fame.

“The Hall of Fame honors former students who have launched distinguished careers in the newspaper, broadcast and publishing industries after gaining valuable experience working at Illini Media during their college years,” Illini Media announced Thursday. The independent student organization publishes The Daily Illini and other campus media.

In addition to Novak, the inductees include the following:

Rich Archbold, executive editor, Long Beach (Calif.) Press-Telegram, a former Daily Illini editor in chief.

Ronald Cohen, who retired as executive editor, national editor and columnist for Gannett News Service. Cohen
was a reporter, copy editor and assistant sports editor for The Daily
Illini from 1955 to1959.

Hugh Hough, a deceased Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the Chicago Sun-Times, who was Daily Illini editor in chief and reporter in 1950-1951.

Marcia Kramer, assistant food editor at The Washington Post, who was a reporter, copy editor and campus editor of The Daily Illini from 1967 to 1970.

Carl Schwartz, senior editor for national and international news for the
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. He was a reporter, columnist, editor and editor in chief for The Daily Illini from 1967 to 1971.

Others being honored include Gene Shalit, film critic for NBC’s “Today” show; Larry Doyle, a former writer and producer of “The Simpsons;” Bob Crawford, the retired political reporter for WBBM-AM in Chicago; and author David Eggers, founder of publishing house McSweeney’s.

To mark the Hall of Fame inductions, Illini Media is celebrating with a
number of activities September 14 and 15 on the Champaign-Urbana campus.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *