Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Staff Reports

Laurels To Be Presented Dec. 1

The Online News Association (ONA) announced Wednesday the finalists in its inaugural Online Journalism Awards, honoring excellence in Internet journalism.

The contest, which was launched in May as a joint effort of the ONA and the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, drew more than 600 entries from more than 200 English-language media outlets around the world.

The awards consist of 11 prizes in six categories, including General Excellence in Online Journalism, Breaking News, Enterprise Journalism, Service Journalism, Creative Use of the Medium, and Online Commentary. The winners will be announced at a luncheon during the ONA conference being held at the Columbia Journalism School on Dec. 1.

“We were impressed by the breadth and range of the stories entered in the contest,” said Sreenath Sreenivasan, administrator of the awards and a professor of new media at Columbia. “The selection process was extremely rigorous and we have a showcase of the very best in recent Web journalism.”

Among the finalists were sites such as,, Cnet,,, and Online newspapers that made the cut in several categories include,,,,,, and

The OJAs join other journalism awards administered by Columbia, including the Pulitzer Prizes, the National Magazine Awards, and the Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia Awards for broadcast journalism.

For a complete list of finalists and judges, visit the Online Journalism Awards site.

Copyright 2000, Editor & Publisher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *