Online Journalism Awards Finalists Announced

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

The Online News Association and University of Miami School of Communication announced finalists for the 2010 Online Journalism Awards, “many pushing the envelope of innovation and excellence in digital storytelling and distribution.”

Nineteen journalists representing a cross-section of the industry made the selections, ranging from independent and nonprofit news and community sites to major media and international organizations. Winners will be announced at the Oct. 30 ONA conference and banquet in Washington D.C.

This year, changes were introduced to acknowledge the growing importance of emerging platforms such as tablets and mobile devices. Six awards now come with a total of $33,000 in prize money, courtesy of the Gannett Foundation and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, and new categories honor outstanding work on investigative news sites.

Among finalists in 32 categories, those vying for the Knight Award for Public Service are the Las Vegas Sun and Greenspun Media Group for “Do No Harm” (hospital care in Las Vegas), Sarasota (Fla.) Herald-Tribune for “Flipping Fraud” (examing a decade of Florida real estate deals) and The Roanoke (Va.) Times/ for “Fear, Facts and the Future on Interstate 81 (safety, impact and future prospects for the highway).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *