Pulitzer Winner Schultz, Sportswriter Pluto In Cleveland Journo Hall of Fame

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Cleveland Plain Dealer columnist Connie Schultz, who won this year’s Pulitzer Prize for commentary, and Akron Beacon Journal sports columnist Terry Pluto will be inducted along with four other journalists into the Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame next month, the Press Club of Cleveland has announced.

Three of the inductees were with the old Cleveland Press, which folded in 1982: Ray DeCrane, a reporter and business editor who died early this year at age 90; photographer Paul Tepley; and Robert B. Larkin, who died in 1941 after 45 years at the Press covering some of the most sensational crimes of the time. He will be inducted as a Journalism Pioneer.

Betty Cope, who in 1965 became the first woman general manager at the public television station WVIZ, will also be inducted.

The ceremony will take place at an Oct. 27 dinner at the Myers University Club.

Tickets for the dinner can be ordered through the Press Club Web site, www.pressclubcleveland.com, and clicking on the registration link or going directly to www.mollyguard.com/event/197832169. Call the Press Club office at 440.899-1222 for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *