Raising Caen: Columnists Hand Out Awards at Confab

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Dave Astor

The National Society of Newspaper Columnists announced the winners of its 2005 writing contest at a ceremony Saturday night.

First-place winners included Jeff Zaslow of The Wall Street Journal (general-interest, newspapers of 100,000-plus circulation); Susan Nielsen of The Oregonian in Portland (humor, 100,000-plus); Bob Norman of the New Times’ Broward/Palm Beach counties edition in Florida (general-interest, under 100,000); and Raymond Reid of the Kernersville (N.C.) News (humor, under 100,000).

Also, Smiley Anders of The Advocate in Baton Rouge, La., won the Herb Caen Memorial Notes/Items category. And the top online columnist was Mark Morford of SFGate.com, which is affiliated with the San Francisco Chronicle.

The NSNC (http://www.columnists.com) also named various second- and third-place finishers, as well as honorable mentions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *