Rich Oppel and Jay Harris Named Pulitzer Board Co-Chairs

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Joe Strupp

The Pulitzer Board has elected Editor Rich Oppel of the Austin (Texas) American-Statesman and former San Jose Mercury News publisher Jay Harris as its new co-chairs.

Oppel, who has said he plans to retire as editor, and Harris, currently director of The Center for the Study of Journalism and Democracy at the University of Southern California, replace former co-chairs Joann Byrd and Mike Pride, who are leaving the board after serving the maximum nine years.

Also departing is Donald E. Graham, chairman of The Washington Post Company, who served nine years, but declined to a be a co-chair for his final year.

The Board chooses winners of the Pulitzer Prizes, announced each April.

The departure of Byrd, former editorial page editor of the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Pride, editor of the Concord (NH) Monitor, as well as Graham, leaves an opening for three new board members, who are expected to be chosen later this year.

Both Harris and Oppel have served on the Pulitzer Board since 2000.

With the departure of Byrd and Pride, the current board includes:

Oppel; Harris; Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University; Danielle Allen, UPS Foundation Professor, School of Social Science, Institute for Advanced Study; Jim Amoss, Editor, Times-Picayune, New Orleans, La.; Amanda Bennett, Executive Editor/Enterprise, Bloomberg News; Kathleen Carroll, Executive Editor and Senior Vice President, Associated Press; Thomas L. Friedman, Columnist, The New York Times; Paul Gigot, Editorial Page Editor, The Wall Street Journal; Anders Gyllenhaal, Executive Editor, The Miami Herald; David M. Kennedy, Donald J. McLachlan Professor of History, Stanford University; Nicholas Lemann, Dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Ann Marie Lipinski, Senior Vice President and Editor, Chicago Tribune; Gregory L. Moore, Editor, The Denver Post; and Paul Tash, Editor, CEO, and Chairman, St. Petersburg Times;

Pulitzer Administrator Sig Gissler is a non-voting member of the board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *