Stamps Honor Women Journalists

By: Jamie Santo

The U.S. Postal Service issued a set of stamps Sept. 12 honoring four pioneering woman journalists.

The Fab Four: Nellie Bly, who went around the world in 72 days for Joseph Pulitzer’s New York World; Marguerite Higgins, who won a Pulitzer Prize in 1951 for her reporting on the Korean War; Ethel L. Payne, the Chicago Defender‘s one-woman Washington bureau and the “First Lady of the Black Press”; and Ida M. Tarbell, who raked the muck around Standard Oil.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *