Strupp of ‘E&P’ a Finalist for Mirror Award

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Syracuse University?s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced 22 finalists in five categories in the second annual Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. For the second year, E&P’s Joe Strupp is one of the finalists.

Awards will be given at the Rainbow Room in New York City at a June luncheon.

Strupp was named a finalist in the Best Profile category for ?Getting Wired: New Image for AP,”” a feature about Kathleen Carroll taking the editorial reins at The Associated Press.

All of the finalists, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article

?Rachel Smolkin, ?Justice Delayed,? American Journalism Review
?Ken Auletta, ?Promises, Promises,? The New Yorker
?Emily Nussbaum, ?Say Everything,? New York Magazine
?Evgenia Peretz, ?Going After Gore,? Vanity Fair
?Michael Wolff, ?Murdoch?s Private Game,? Vanity Fair

Best Profile

?Joe Strupp, ?Getting Wired: New Image for AP,? Editor & Publisher
?Aaron Barnhart, ?Al Jazeera English: The News You Won?t See,? Kansas City Star
?David Folkenflik, ?Seizures Hurt Memory, Ex-?Times? Reporter Says,? National Public Radio
?Jeff Coplon, ?How Race is Lived in America,? New York Magazine
?Richard Siklos, ?Tilting at a Digital Future,? The New York Times

Best Commentary

?David Carr, The New York Times
?Dan Kennedy, freelancer, for The Guardian
?Joe Nocera, The New York Times
?Rob Owen, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
?Clive Thompson, freelancer, for Wired

Best Investigative Piece

?Lowell Bergman, ?News War: Secrets, Sources & Spin and the Future of Networks,? ?Frontline? (PBS)
?Brian Ross and Vic Walter, ?To Catch A Predator: A Sting Gone Bad,? ?20/20? (ABC News)
?Sarah Ellison, Matthew Karnitschnig, Susan Pulliam, Dennis K. Berman, Susan Warren, Martin Peers, Steve Stecklow, Aaron O. Patrick and Andrew Higgins, ?The Battle for Dow Jones: A Newspaper Covers Itself,? The Wall Street Journal (four pieces)

Overall Excellence

?American Journalism Review
?Broadcasting & Cable
?The New York Times: Monday Media section
?The Seattle Times: The Democracy Papers

In addition, journalist Tim Russert will receive the Fred Dressler Lifetime Achievement Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *