The Sidney Hillman Foundation Now Accepting Nominations for 2016 Hillman Prizes

Follow by Email
Visit Us

The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2016 Hillman Prizes which honor investigative journalism and commentary in the public interest. Winners exemplify sound news judgment, resourcefulness and courage in reporting, skilled story telling and social impact. The 2016 prizes will be given for work published or released in 2015.


Our categories are:

  • Book (non-fiction)
  • Newspaper Reporting (print or online)
  • Magazine Reporting (print or online)
  • Broadcast Journalism (video or radio segments longer than 20 minutes, podcasts, and documentaries)
  • Web Journalism (online multimedia reporting by an individual or an institution; should have a substantial visual component as well as text)
  • Opinion & Analysis Journalism (commentary and analysis in any medium)


The deadline for all submissions is January 30, 2016. There is no fee to enter. A cover letter and the nominated material are all that are required. View the online entry form and application instructions.


Winners will be announced in April 2016. Each winner is awarded travel to New York City to receive a $5,000 prize and a certificate designed by New Yorker cartoonist, Edward Sorel, at our ceremony to be held Tuesday May 3, 2016 at the New York Times Center.


Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures who pursue investigative journalism and public policy for the common good.


Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union of America, a predecessor union of Workers United, SEIU. Sidney Hillman, an architect of the New Deal, fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of working peoples’ lives.


For more information, please visit

View More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *