‘The Week’ to Honor Opinion Writers

By: Seth Porges

The Week magazine has assembled a panel of media hotshots and stars to judge its first opinion awards, to be presented in January. Awards will be given in four categories of opinion-heavy journalism: columnist, advocate, local columnist and blogger of the year.

The 21 judges include Mario Cuomo, Steve Brill, Arthur Schlesinger Jr., Robert Caro, Lauren Hutton, Wendy Wasserstein, Frances Fitzgerald, Walter Isaacson and Monica Crowley.

Each category carries the prize of a $1,000 donation made to the charity of the winner’s choice.

“I had felt that opinion writing kind of goes unrecognized in terms of awards,” The Week Editor-in-Chief William Falk said. “There are a lot of awards out there … and increasingly columnists play an increasing role in framing and shaping the debates of our time. … We wanted to recognize the people who do this type of thinking and analysis and argument.”

Contestants can be nominated by anyone who is familiar with their work. For more information, visit theweekmagazine.com.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *