Three Nominated As Top Cartoonist

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Dave Astor

Three widely syndicated comic creators are finalists for the National Cartoonists Society’s (NCS) Reuben Award as top cartoonist of the year.

They include “Rose is Rose” creator Pat Brady of United Feature Syndicate, “Luann” creator Greg Evans of United, and “Zits” and “Baby Blues” co-creator Jerry Scott of King Features Syndicate.

The winner will be named May 25 at the NCS’ 56th Annual Reuben Award Convention in Cancun, Mexico. Various category awards also will be presented that night, and 80-year-old Jerry Robinson will receive the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award.

During his six-decade career, Robinson founded the Cartoonists & Writers Syndicate, drew editorial cartoons, authored many books on cartooning, and created the Joker character of “Batman” fame. He is the only person to serve as president of both the NCS and Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

Among the speakers in Cancun will be Scott, “Baby Blues” co-creator Rick Kirkman, “Zits” co-creator and Cincinnati Enquirer editorial cartoonist Jim Borgman, “Doonesbury” creator Garry Trudeau of Universal Press Syndicate, Mad magazine cartoonist Sergio Aragones, and illustrator C.F. Payne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *