‘Wash Post’ Captures Six Pulitzers, ‘NYT’ Takes Two

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: Joe Strupp

The Washington Post was the big Pulitzer Prize winner on Monday, taking home six of the 14 journalism categories — including the coveted Public Service award — the most ever for the newspaper. Winners were announced at 3 p.m. at Columbia University.

The Post’s six-prize sweep is second only in history to The New York Times, which won seven Pulitzers in 2002, many for its Sept. 11 coverage.

The Times won two Pulitzers this year, for investigative reporting and for Explanatory Reporting. There was a tie in the investigative category, with the Chicago Tribune also getting the nod.

The board offered no winner in editorial writing, the first time that has occurred in that category since 1993.


The Post’s winners this year are:

— PUBLIC SERVICE – Dana Priest and Anne Hull, for their Walter Reed Army Hospital expos?.

— NATIONAL REPORTING – Barton Gellman and Jo Becker, for their series, “Angler: The Cheney Vice Presidency.”

— INTERNATIONAL REPORTING – Steve Fainaru, for his coverage of Iraq-related security and Blackwater.

— BREAKING NEWS – Coverage of the Virginia Tech massacre.

— COMMENTARY – Business columnist Steven Pearlstein.

— FEATURE REPORTING – Gene Weingarten, for “Pearls Before Breakfast,” his story on violinist Joshua Bell playing in the subway.

The New York Times? two awards are for:

— INVESTIGATIVE (co-winner), for its “Toxic Pipeline” series on dangerous foreign imports by Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker.

— EXPLANATORY REPORTING, to Amy Harmon for “The DNA Age.”

This marks the third win for Bogdanich, who previously won in 1988 and 2005.

The Post?s landslide win boosted Executive Editor Leonard Downie Jr.’s Pulitzer success to 25 newsroom winners since he took the helm in 1991 from Ben Bradlee. That means he has overseen more than half of the paper’s 46 Pulitzer Prizes, which date back to the first in 1936.

The five remaining categories:

–FEATURE PHOTOGRAPHY: Concord (N.H.) Monitor, Preston Gannaway


–EDITORIAL CARTOOING: Investor’s Business Daily, Michael Ramirez

–LOCAL REPORTING: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, David Umhoefer, stories on tax laws and pension misuse

— CRITICISM: Boston Globe, Mark Feeney

–INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING (co-winner) : Chicago Tribune staff, for stories on faulty government regulation of toys, cribs, car seats

Footnote: Bob Dylan was awarded a special “citation” for music.


— Public Service:

The Charlotte Observer (mortgage and housing crisis) and Newsday, Melville, N.Y., for hazardous gap between New York railroad?s trains and its boarding platforms.

— Breaking News:

The Idaho Statesman Staff for Larry Craig scandal, and The New York Times Staff for its coverage of a fire in the Bronx.

— Investigative Reporting:

Miles Moffeit and Susan Greene of The Denver Post for their reports on destruction of evidence in criminal cases.

— Explanatory:

Beth Daley of The Boston Globe for how global warming affects New Englanders, and the Staff of The Oregonian, Portland, for reports on a
breakthrough in producing microprocessors.

— Local Reporting:

Chris Davis, Matthew Doig and Tiffany Lankes of the Sarasota (Fla.) Herald Tribune on predatory teachers and Jeff Pillets, John Brennan and Tim Nostrand of The Record, Bergen County, N.J., for their probe of building a luxury community atop old landfills.

— National Reporting:

The New York Times Staff for its stories about CIA interrogation techniques and Howard Witt of the Chicago Tribune for his examination of complicated racial issues in America.

— International:

The New York Times Staff for its coverage of America?s military efforts to reduce sectarian violence in Iraq, and The Wall Street Journal Staff for its in-depth reports on the dismantling of democracy in Russia.

— Feature Writing:

Thomas Curwen of the Los Angeles Times for vivid account of a grizzly bear attack, and Kevin Vaughan of the Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colo., for retelling of a school bus and train collision at a rural crossing in 1961.

— Commentary:

Regina Brett of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, for columns on alienated teenagers in a dangerous city neighborhood, and John Kass of the Chicago Tribune for columns on the abuse of local political power and
and a lively range of topics.

— Criticism:

Ann Hornaday of The Washington Post for movie reviews and essays, and Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer for critiques that illuminate the vital interplay between architecture and the life of her city.

–Editorial writing:

Maureen Downey of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution for editorials on the harsh sentences that teenagers can receive for consensual sex in Georgia; Rodger Jones of The Dallas Morning News for editorials that led to mandating roll-call votes on all statewide legislation in Texas; and The Wisconsin State Journal Staff for its campaign against abuses in the governor?s veto power.

— Editorial Cartooning:

Tom Batiuk of King Features for a sequence in his cartoon strip ?Funky Winkerbean? that portrays a woman?s poignant battle with breast
cancer, and Clay Bennett of The Christian Science Monitor.

— Breaking News Photography

Mahmud Hams of Agence France-Presse and the Los Angeles Times Staff for photos that captured wildfires devastating California.

— Feature Photography

David Guttenfelder of the Associated Press for his harrowing portfolio of Vietnamese children afflicted by the toxic legacy of Agent Orange,
and Mona Reed of The Dallas Morning News for pictures of disadvantaged Texans hidden amid the state?s economic abundance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *